Monday, July 19, 2010

Weekend Recap or Whataya Want From Me?

The weekend has come and gone and it was something, to say the least.  Now for the recap:

Friday: I had the night off and spent it in the city.  It was a fantastic night filled with great people and great conversations (nobody from online, so I'll spare you the details).  There were some texts here and there from the regular fellas, but no concrete plans for dates or anything beyond the typical "have a good weekend" stuff.

Saturday: Had to take care of some personal things before leaving town early to head back home for work.  I kid you not, as the city begins to fade in my rear view mirror, I get a text from Dr. Funnyman.  Yep, he's still alive, still has my number and is still interested (or was bored - I don't really know).  The text was very simple, just wanting to know what my plans were for the day.  So I responded with a quick message that I was actually leaving the city at that very moment and spending the rest of the weekend at home. His response: "Wait... You were here and no text?"  Seriously????  I haven't heard from you in over a week and now you want to act all offended that my first thought on my 18 hours in the city wasn't to see what you were doing? Showing a little interest will go a long way. If I haven't heard from you in a good while, I figure it's safe to assume you're just not that into me.  Shows what I know...

Saturday night:  Had to work a closing shift at the store, but I had told a new guy from the paid site to drop in to say hello.  He's a couple years older than me, with a steady job, and we'd had a few good conversations online.  He wanted to take me to dinner - I wanted to make sure he wasn't a total creep before agreeing to such a thing.  He conveniently showed up during break time, so I invited him to sit on the patio with me and chat during my break.  The conversation was effortless. We had things in common, he didn't seem to be a serial killer, and he was moderately attractive.  Then he drops a bombshell.... "I never vote."  Wait... what?  Did you really just tell the girl who works in politics that you NEVER vote?  He followed it up by saying that he had voted once, in the last presidential election, "because I had to... we all had to. Didn't do much good, though, which is why I won't ever do it again."  If he told me he had kids, an ex-wife, a job that required him to be out of the country for extended periods of time, or relatives in federal prison, I could handle these things.  But to tell me he doesn't vote and doesn't plan to ever do it again? Well, that's just more than I can take.  It's a shame, too.  It maybe could've gone somewhere. Now, it never will.  Think I'm being too picky or made an unwise decision?  Here's what you need to understand, I have options. Lots of options.  Options which include the guys I'm meeting on these websites, guys I already know, and guys I have yet to meet.  I think I have the right to narrow it down based on things like having no interest in doing your civic duty and exercising your right to vote.  Best of luck in your search, pal, and don't contact me again.

Sunday:  I don't know what happened Sunday, but for some reason I woke up with my cranky pants on.  Maybe it was the fact that the weather sucked and kept me from lounging by the pool or joyriding with my sunroof open.  Maybe it was the fact that I have had so many good days lately I was overdue for a bad one.  Whatever the reason, I was in a mood and I could not shake it.  My mind was going in a hundred directions and none of them were good.  I was over thinking things and becoming increasingly irritated with guys in general.  I tried everything to get happy - cleaned the house, went shopping, went for a run on the treadmill, cooked a nice meal, drank half a bottle of sangria, watched a couple of movies - but nothing worked.  My problem? Trying to figure out what they want from me.

Take, for example, Rocketman. We've had nice phone conversations, constant text contact, and plans to meet up for a few weeks now.  We've never picked a day, time or place to meet. It's sort of a phantom date, constant musings of how we should meet up, but nothing comes to fruition.  He asks when I'm free, I tell him and he isn't free, or he is and says he'll let me know time and place and doesn't do that.  In the meantime, he continues to send random texts saying how he hopes I'm having a good day and whatnot.  What is it, exactly, that you're looking for here? Do you just want someone to text when you're bored? Are you afraid all the "magic" will disappear once we're finally face-to-face?  That's a good possibility, but you won't know until you actually meet me.  At this rate, though, that seems to not be happening.  Better watch it, because you're close to being crossed of the list.

Then there were the antics of Dr. Funnyman.  What the hell is that all about?  You go off the grid for over a week and then get all huffy because I was in town and didn't tell you?  I can understand that maybe he was exploring his other options and they didn't pan out. That's the nature of the online dating beast.  I'm hearing from several guys right now (some online, some not) and some of them are going places, while many are going nowhere.  So if you put me on the shelf to see what happened with another girl, only to be let down by her and right back to me, hey, it happens.  Now let's see if I hear from you again or if that text on Saturday was just a fluke.  So far, the fluke is winning.

Maybe I'm the product of too many chick flicks and romantic comedies, but I just wish it were all a little easier.  Is it too much to ask for a little honesty, for being upfront about what it is you're looking to get out of this?  What is it that you want from me?  I'm not spending my time and money looking for a one-night stand (not my thing) or a new BFF (that role is permanently filled by 3 extraordinary women).  I'm looking to find the guy who will become the next guy in my life.  It could be the last relationship I'll ever be in.  Or it could not be. I don't know how it will pan out, but the point is that I'm looking for something pretty serious here.  I'm ready to stop playing games and acting a fool.  If you're not, please tell me so that I can move on and you can do the same.  I don't expect you to shout from the rooftops that you think I'm awesome or to show up outside my window like John Cusack in Say Anything.  I just want to know where you stand so that I know where I stand.

So if you're interested in me, and I mean genuinely interested in seeing if we could have something real, then make like a peacock and shake your tail feathers at me.  If I like what I see, I'll certainly let you know.

No comments:

Post a Comment